top of page

Self-Kindness


In times of a depressive episode and/or high anxiety, it becomes difficult for me to practice self-kindness. A few ways that I have failed to be kind to myself in the past:


  • Being a people pleaser

  • Being a door mat (letting people walk on me)

  • Not holding others accountable for mistreating and/or mischaracterizing me

  • Not allowing myself to do things that create joy in my life

  • Worrying about what others think of me

  • Harming myself in order to take care of others

  • Allowing the actions and words of others to harm me

  • Doing things for others out of a sense of obligation

  • Constantly explaining myself




When I've been in a better place mentally, I've found that turning things around, and practicing self-kindness, can be life-altering in positive ways. As RuPal says,



Recent Posts

See All

Humor

bottom of page